You dont have javascript enabled! Please enable it! Recognition and Progression Into Universities | Next Gates

Recognition and Progression Into Universities

First of all, you will be glad to learn that about 1 in every 4 students getting into UK universities come with a background of BTEC qualifications[1]. On the other hand, from the employment perspective, employers love to hire individuals with hands-on training skills that students are bound to develop with a BTEC qualification.


BTEC Higher National Certificate (HNC) is categorized as level 4 based on the higher education qualification framework in UK, therefore it is accredited certificate in the UK and internationally recognized. It includes eight courses with 120 credits and equivalent to a preparation year before starting a degree. The certificate has 120 transferable credits.

BTEC Higher National Diploma (HND) is categorized as level 5 based on the higher education qualification framework in UK. It has 15 units with 240 credits and equivalent to the first two years of a degree. With one additional year of study at a UK University, it can become a BA Honours Degree.

Many universities allow advanced entry onto the second or third year of a degree. Some universities have direct articulations on to the second or third year of a bachelor’s degree programme with Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals.

Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ) in England, Wales and Northern Ireland

Students should be aware that university admission criteria is always subject to change and understand the course entry requirements for subject, year and grade before applying. Students should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes at specific Higher Education providers. After completing a Higher National Certificate or Diploma, students can also progress directly into employment.

BTEC Qualification Degree Finder

The Degree Course Finder (DCF) is a website that finds universities around the world, which have confirmed recognition or progression of a Pearson BTEC Higher National qualification.

We have formal recognition and progression agreements with over 300 universities around the world. In completing your Higher National you can be rest assured in progressing to your next desired step.

Here are some universities that accept our Higher National students:

    University of Central Lancashire
    Exeter University
    Teeside University
    University of Greenwich
    Coventry University
    Anglia Ruskin University
    Sheffield Hallam University
    Birmingham City University
    London Metropolitan University
    Oxford Brookes University
    University of Portsmouth
    IU International University
    of Applied Sciences

    Many universities might not be listed, but this doesn’t mean that they don’t accept the qualification for their programme entry. Students should always contact the university and evaluated their documents based on the local evaluation system.



    [1] For further information on higher education institutions visit HESA’s website – link

    About NG Education

    Next Gates Education offers a professional qualifications and courses in which most of them are accredited by UK’s top Awarding Bodies and internationally recognized.

    Find Certificate

    Subscribe in our Newsletter