You dont have javascript enabled! Please enable it! Recognition in Sweden | Next Gates

Recognition in Sweden

Both higher national levels are recognized and validated in Sweden. They are equivalent to Higher Vocational Education Diploma (Yrkeshögskoleexamen) under post-secondary education (Eftergymnasial yrkesutbildning).

According to the UHR (Swedish Council for Higher Education), the education is recognized and evaluated. The following image is fetched from their website.

HN Qualifications are recognized by UHR

Here you can see at what level Swedish qualifications are placed

Swedish qualifications compared to UK framework

You can download the assessment PDF from the following link and send it to an employer, authority or university.

Download PDF

Bologna Process

Sweden is part of Bologna process, which is a declaration signed by more than 45 members of European countries[1]. The goal of the Bologna Process was for Europe to become a cohesive European Higher Education Area (EHEA) by 2010. During the ten-year period 2011-2020, the overall and operational goals continue to apply. The declaration focuses on six priority areas:

  • The social dimension – high quality education should be accessible to all, where under-represented groups should be given special support to participate and carry out their studies.
  • Lifelong learning – learning throughout life should be stimulated through various forms of education and through the introduction of a National Qualification Framework (NQF).
  • Employability – the labour market increasingly needs well-trained staff. Universities and colleges need to meet the need through, among other things, internships in educational programs.
  • Student-centred learning – universities and colleges must state learning objectives in the curricula of the programs.
  • Internationalisation and mobility – by 2020, at least 20 percent of those who graduate must have studied or practised abroad during their studies. Mobility should be a hallmark of European higher education.
  • “Multidimensional transparency tools” – it will be possible to compare European universities and colleges with each other, related to the Bologna process.

The Lisbon Recognition Convention

The Lisbon Recognition Convention was developed by the Council of Europe and UNESCO and has been ratified by 57 countries[2] in Europe but also by Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Israel[3]. The convention provides a framework for recognising foreign qualifications for the purposes of work and studies in Europe and beyond. Some of the main points of the convention are:

  • holders of qualifications in one country should have access to an assessment of these qualifications in another country
  • each country shall recognise qualifications as similar to corresponding qualifications in their own system unless there is a substantial difference between the foreign qualification and the required one.


Two networks were established in order to support implementation of the Lisbon Recognition Convention and put its framework into practice: NARIC (National Academic Recognition Information Centre) within the EU and ENIC (European Network of Information Centres) within the Council of Europe and UNESCO.

The centres represented in the networks provide information about qualifications recognition for academic and professional purposes, and which organisation to contact if you wish to work in a regulated profession in a particular country. You can also find information about the systems of education[4].



[1] Read more about Bologna process – link

[2] Countries covered by the Lisbon treaty – link

[3] Lisbon treaty regarding higher education – link

[4] Read more about ENIC-NARIC Sweden – link

About NG Education

Next Gates Education offers a professional qualifications and courses in which most of them are accredited by UK’s top Awarding Bodies and internationally recognized.

Find Certificate

Subscribe in our Newsletter